top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerisingfiretheatre

How are your dreams today? Funky?

So I just woke up from another doozy, where a triplet of lawyers walked into my quarantine bedroom / office, who I supposedly knew personally as I apologized using their names for not being dressed for the meeting (but reprimanded them for just walking into my space and not using zoom!) Too sensitive a matter to discuss virtually, supposedly, as a group of lobbyists had just gone off on some congressmen about how much money flows their way and that they should shut up and play ball, and now I had to investigate what the congressmen were pocketing... Oh right, and when the triplet of lawyers walked into my quarantine bedroom / office they had to close the bathroom door which I was sharing with other people’s bedrooms and nobody was wearing any pants!


Another one was me and some woman who I didn’t recognize having some Butch and Sundance final shoot out as we were running out of the back of a house (protecting ourselves with multi-layers of cardboard boxes taped together!) down a garden while we pumped dozen of rounds from handguns into foes before leaping headfirst into what seemed like thistle bushes, rolling through them at what seemed like break-neck speed to a shoreline where, as the adrenaline started to wane we realized that we had been filled with bullets and were bleeding profusely, but that didn’t stop us from running down the beach hand in hand, diving into the water to swim to a deserted island for our final stand that never happened.


Or the one being chased by zombies through a hotel while protecting Kathy Griffin.


Or the one where somehow I was a new marine recruit doing some final training in the Florida Everglades with The Rock in a lagoon filled with alligators.

Yeah... I don’t know if its the lack of contact with others, lack of stimulation from a normal life, too much stimulation from streaming too much content, bad sourdough starter, too much bitters in my afternoon cocktails, not enough bourbon in my afternoon cocktails!


I had written another blog about the stages of grief during a pandemic and how it felt like tetris blocks stacking up (1 shock, 4 acceptance, 2 depression) but it didn’t read right, sound right, so I deleted and went with my crazy dreams. How’s everybody else's dreams been flowing? Overly imaginative than normal, or just the same as always?


But how about your actual dreams, y’know, your future aspirations? Anyone else feel like they've just been punched in the tenders, and you’re just stumblin’ forward not knowing whether to lie down or keep struggling? I miss my theatre company, rehearsals, and the fact that last week we would have opened our second show. I would have been able to enjoy the imaginative work from our directors and actors, and the reactions of our audiences. And that momentum leading us to our next project. Instead of that, I got zombies chasing me and Kathy Griffin.


-Alan Malone


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Theatre: The new life of Risk Or Reward

Definition: Or: used to connect words, phrases, or clauses representing alternatives, used to connect alternative terms for the same thing, used in correlation, used to correct or rephrase what was pr

Just One Step -OR- The Return of the New Normal

A couple of weeks ago, someone I deem most wise and compassionate posed a question to a group of Zoom chat participants. “What questions are you facing right now?” As a lover of “the questions”, I was

Wisdom From A Wall

I admitted to my wall the other day that I thought I might be going a bit crazy. I wasn’t sure I was handling this quarantine thing well, I’m going a bit stir-crazy, what’s the point of using measurin

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page